Cincinnati Bengals announce nominees for inaugural ring of honor class


Who will join? Paul Brown and Anthony Muñoz on the opening class of the Cincinnati Bengals Ring of Honor?

The Bengals officially announced the nominees for their first honor ring class on Thursday. There are a total of 17 nominees. However, only two members, Brown and Muñoz, will join as part of the franchise’s opening class. Season ticket members and suite owners have the task of voting for the remaining two members on an officially opened ballot.

The Bengals Ring of Honor is displayed on the east facade at Paul Brown Stadium. The four players will be picked up during a home game in Bengals this season.

Here are the Bengals nominees for their first class of honor ring:

Ken Anderson

Anderson played for the Bengals from 1971 to 1986. The former Bengals quarterback is in the top 5 in franchise history. He was named an NFL MVP in 1981.

Ken Riley

Riley’s 65 interceptions rank fifth in NFL history. The cornerback played his entire career in Cincinnati from 1969 to 1983. He leads the Bengals in interceptions (65), interception return yards (596) and interception returns for a touchdown (5). The Florida A&M product formed three all-pro teams as a member of the Bengals.

Boomer Esiason

Esiason is in the top 5 in franchise history in most of the major passing categories. In the 1988 season, Esiason NFL MVP was won and named a first-team all-pro. The four-time pro bowler played for the Bengals from 1984 to 1992.

Isaac Curtis of the Cincinnati Bengals rallies in a touchdown pass from quarterback Ken Anderson in the fourth quarter of the AFC Playoff in Oakland on December 28, 1975.  The touchdown brought the result: Cincinnati 27, Oakland 31. This is Neal Colzie from the Raiders moving into the receiver.  Oakland won, 31-28, and will meet Pittsburgh for the AFC championship.

Isaac Curtis

Curtis’ average yards of 17.07 yards per reception ranks first in team history. He ranks third in career earning yards (7,101) and most 100 yard games (20). The quick recipient was a four-time pro bowler and a three-time all-pro. He spent his entire career in Cincinnati (1973-1984).

Lemar Parrish

Parrish ranks in the top 5 in franchise history for career interceptions (25), interception return yards (354) and interceptions returned for touchdowns (4). The defender made eight pro bowls and was selected on five all-pro teams. He played with the Bengals from 1970-1977.

Chad Johnson

Johnson is the Bengali market leader in all major reception categories. He was six times Pro Bowler and four times All-Pro. He was the head of the NFL Reception Courts in 2006. No. 85 was a Bengal from 2001 to 2010.

Willie Anderson

Anderson was invited to the Pro Bowl four times. The offensive tackle in 181 Bengals games finished eighth on the team’s all-time list. From 1996 to 2007 he was anchor in Cincinnati.

Jim Breech

Breech had a 13 year career in Cincinnati. The former Bengals kicker is the team’s top scorer with 1,151 points.

James Brooks

Brooks owns a team that brings back records for most yards of scrimmage (9,459), touchdowns (64) and games played (118). With 6,447 rushing yards he ranks second in the history of Bengal. He played for the Bengals from 1984 to 1991.

Cris Collinsworth

Collinsworth rAnks in the top 5 in team history at career receptions and shipyards. The former Bengali recipient was a three-time pro bowler. He was a Bengal from 1981 to 1988.

Corey Dillon

Dillon holds Bengal’s records for career rushing attempts (1,865), career rushing yards (8,061), and most 100-yard games (28). He was invited to the Pro Bowl three times. He played in Cincinnati from 1997 to 2003.

David Fulcher

Fulcher’s 31 interceptions rank third in Bengal history. Security was a three time pro bowler. He played in Cincinnati from 1986 to 1992.

Tim Krumrie

Krumrie has never missed a game in his Bengals career. He played in 193 career games (including playoffs). The nasal device was invited to the Pro Bowl twice.

Max Montoya

Montoya was an offensive guardian of the Bengals from 1979 to 1989. He did the Pro Bowl three times.

Dave Lapham

Lapham has played in 140 games, which is in the top 10 of a Bengali offensive lineman. The guard played from 1974-1983.

Bob Trumpy

Trumpy ranks second in team history for average yards per reception in a season. He did the Pro Bowl four times. He played a close finish for the Bengals from 1968 to 1977.

Reggie Williams

Williams ’62, 5 sacks rank fourth in Bengal history. He led the club in 1976, 1977 and 1984 in duels. The former linebacker from Bengals is second in team history with 206 games played.