Youngstown loses a heartbreaker within the Pony League World Collection championship sport


WASHINGTON, Pennsylvania (WKBN) – Brownsville led Youngstown 11-10 in eight innings to win the 2021 Sporting Goods Pony League World Series by DICK on Wednesday night.

HIGHLIGHTS! Brownsville, TX & Youngstown, OH combine for 21 runs. The last time over 20 runs were posted in a PLWS championship game was in 1981! Brownsville defeated Youngstown by a final of 11-10. # plus2021

– PONY World Series (@ plws2021) August 19, 2021

Brownsville owned four-run and three-run leads at several points in the game, but Youngstown continually struggled back to tie the game.

The Texas team scored two runs in the top of the eight innings to finally take the lead. Youngstown cut the gap to one run, but a jump from Jorge Garza Jr. secured Brownsville the first ever Pony League World Series.

Alexis Lopez went 4-4 with four runs scored and two RBI in victory. Ruben Lopez scored three hits with four RBI and three runs.

Youngstown was led by Carter Wilson, who went 4-6 with three RBI and three runs scored.

It was Youngstown’s second ever appearance in the Pony League World Series, with the previous trip in 1955.

Positive COVID-19 test cancels local high school soccer game

Youngstown is the first Ohio team to move into the championship game since 1997.

The team finished runner-up in the Pony League World Series and went 3-1 in the tournament with two wins over Washington County, PA and one win over Bayamon, Puerto Rico.